Three professors in the USC Viterbi School of Engineering have been named as Fellows to the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), a prestigious honor that recognizes individuals among a select group of computing leaders around the world.

The USC researchers honored are:

Maja Mataric

Maja Mataric, Chan Soon-Shiong Chair and Distinguished Professor of Computer Science, Neuroscience, and Pediatrics
For contributions to socially assistive robotics and human-robot systems



Sven KoenigSven Koenig, Professor of Computer Science
For contributions to artificial intelligence, including heuristic search and multi-agent coordination



Michael Zyda

Michael J. Zyda, Professor of Computer Science Practice
For contributions to game design, game and virtual reality networking, and body tracking



Drs. Mataric, Koenig, and Zyda are part of a class of 95 individuals selected this year by the ACM, which saw a record number of nominations this past year. Fellows are nominated by their peers, with nominations reviewed by a distinguished selection committee.

The ACM is an international group of leaders across all computing disciplines. Each year, the group recognizes individuals who have contributed their innovations across a wide range of areas, including artificial intelligence, cloud computing, computer graphics, computational biology, data science, human-computer interaction, software engineering, theoretical computer science, and virtual reality.

For the full list of 2020 ACM Fellows and to learn more about the organization, visit the ACM website.

~Photos by USC Viterbi School of Engineering