USC researchers honored at National Academy of Inventors induction ceremony

USC professors P. Daniel Dapkus, Scott Fraser and Andreas Molisch (pictured below, left to right) were inducted as fellows into the National Academy of Inventors in a ceremony held in Washington, D.C. on April 15, 2016.

The three prolific researchers joined 165 other new inductees, an honor that recognizes the top innovators in the nation affiliated with universities and academic organizations.

At the ceremony helNAI-AndrewHirschfeldApril2016-sizereducedd on Apr. 15 at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, U.S. Commissioner for Patents Andrew H. Hirshfeld (pictured on left) provided the keynote address for the induction ceremony. Hirshfeld and Paul R. Sanberg, president of the NAI and Charter Fellow, presented the 2015 class of Fellows with a trophy, medal and rosette pin honoring their contributions as academic inventors. Of the 168 innovators elected to the 2015 class, more than 130 were in attendance.

Dapkus is the William M. Keck Distinguished Professor of Engineering and the director of the The Photonics Center at USC which focuses on novel photonic technology to revolutionize communications, signal processing, interconnections and military systems.

Fraser serves as the Director of Science Initiatives for the USC campuses and is co-director of The Saban Research Institute’s Translational Biomedical Imaging Laboratory.

Molisch is Professor in USC Viterbi’s Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering and an expert in wireless communications. His research focuses on ultrawideband communications, wireless propagation channels and multiple antenna systems.

Fellows are elected annually by the academy from submitted nominations. Nominations can be submitted by anyone through an online form (except by the nominees themselves). Fellows are selected by the academy’s NAI Fellows Selection Committee. To be eligible as a fellow, inventors must show “a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society,” according to the organization.

There are a total of 582 fellows (including this year’s new honorees) representing more than 190 universities, government and non-profit research institutions. Other academy fellows from USC are USC President C.L. Max Nikias, who was inducted in 2012 as a charter member, and Behrokh Khoshnevis (Professor, Industrial and Systems Engineering, USC Viterbi), Mark Thompson (Professor of Chemistry, USC Dornsife) and Alan Willner (Professor, USC Viterbi’s Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering – Systems) who were all elected in 2014.

Nominees for the 2016 Fellows will open July 1, 2016 and can be submitted online through October 1, 2016 at

For the full list of the 2015 inductees, visit:

–By USC Stevens staff, published April 29, 2016. Photos provided by National Academy of Inventors.

Left to right: USC professors P. Daniel Dapkus, Scott Fraser and Andreas Molisch with National Academy of Inventors President Paul Sanberg and U.S. Patents Commissioner Andrew Hirshfeld. Photos provided by National Academy of Inventors.