USC Professors Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

Two professors from the USC Viterbi School of Engineering have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, one of the highest professional distinctions accorded to engineers.

Professor Mahta Moghaddam, the William Hogue Professor in the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Professor Behrokh Khoshnevis, Dean’s Professor in the Daniel J. Epstein Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, have earned the honor of membership in the academy. Moghaddam was cited for development of physics-based computational algorithms for mapping of subsurface characteristics. Khoshnevis was cited for innovations in manufacturing and construction, including the application of 3D printing methods.

Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

The USC professors are among the 86 new U.S. members and 18 foreign members, announced by Academy president C. D. (Dan) Mote, Jr. this week. This brings the total U.S. membership to 2,297 and the number of foreign members to 272.

There are now 32 National Academy of Engineering members with USC Viterbi faculty affiliations.

For more information, read the National Academy of Engineering press release.

–post by Peijean Tsai, USC Stevens Center for Innovation